North Carolina’s banks are committed to cultivating a culture that reflects the diversity in ideas, beliefs and people that make up our community.

The NCBA Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Council was established based on two key ideas:

  1. All Americans should have a truly equal opportunity to prosper, and
  2. Economic inclusion is  absolutely necessary when creating these opportunities.

Members of the DE&I Council will meet regularly to provide input on ways that the NCBA can provide leadership on racial equality and to identify resources the organization should provide for its members to help with diversity and inclusion efforts. We believe that strength comes from diversity and inclusion, and this council is an important first step for North Carolina’s banking industry.

A diverse workforce is critical to the strength and vitality of our industry. Take a look at this video to gain a glimpse at the many reasons why diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives impact all of us. Remember, #InclusionStartsWithI.

Mission Statement

Together, we will advocate, influence and help to build sustainable Diversity, Equity and Inclusion capabilities that ensure racial, gender and ethnic equality in the banking industry. We believe in equality – we will work to ensure equality – that’s our commitment.

NCBA DE&I Council

Michael Atkinson
First Citizens Bank
: mike.atkinson@firstcitizens.com
: 919-716-7280

Almeda Benefield
Coastal Bank & Trust
: abenefield@coastalbanknc.com
: 910-577-3200 Ext. 114

Vivian Bolanos
First Citizens Bank
: vivian.bolanos@firstcitizens.com
: 828-257-5758

Kim Boyd Leaks
Peoples Bank
: kboyd@peoplesbanknc.com
: 828-695-2471

Sondra Collins
North State Bank
: scollins@northstatebank.com
: 919-645-4983

Betesha Ethridge
BankWithBea Consulting
: bea@bankwithbea.com
: 252-363-5408

Philip Fintchre
Fifth Third Bank
: philip.fintchreii@53.com

Sheldon Hilaire
TD Bank
: sheldon.hilaire@td.com
: 803-324-1855

Johnathan Kearney
PNC Bank
: johnathan.kearney@pnc.com
: 919-788-5816

Ola McClean
Bank of America
: ola.mcclean@bofa.com

Nick Means
Farmers & Merchants Bank
: nmeans@fmbnc.com
: 704-762-2260

Eva Ogden
Pinnacle Financial Partners
: eva.ogden@pnfp.com
: 336-881-3371

Eric Powell
M&F Bank
: eric.powell@mfbonline.com
: 919-536-0123

Jose Sandoval
American National Bank
: sandovalj@amnb.com
: 336-358-4663

Kristerpher Smith
JPMorgan Chase
: kristerpher.j.smith@chase.com
: 704-339-6820

Shannon Sutton
First Carolina Bank
: shannonsutton@firstcarolinabank.com
: 919-665-3043

NCBA DE&I Leadership

Janice Royster,
NCBA Staff Liaison

Community Bank Services
: janice@ncbankers.org
: 984-344-9998

Jim Sills,
NCBA Chair

M&F Bank
: james.sills@mfbonline.com
: 919-536-7540

Charles Frederick,
NCBA Immediate Past Chair

TD Bank
: charles.frederick@td.com
: 828-251-7525

Peter Gwaltney,
NCBA President & CEO

North Carolina Bankers Association
: peter@ncbankers.org
: 984-344-9999

Vikki Conley Ikard
Centrant Community Capital
: vikki@centrant.org
: 984-344-9994

Blair Jernigan
North Carolina Bankers Association
: blair@ncbankers.org
: 984-344-9989

Michelle Sutton
North Carolina Bankers Association
: michelle@ncbankers.org
: 984-344-9980

Bank On NC

  • Bank On Webinar
    In 2021, the NC Bankers Association supported The Collaborative to launch Bank On North Carolina. Bank On is a revolutionary program that expands access to safe and affordable bank accounts to everyone in North Carolina. Check out this webinar recording to learn more about Bank On North Carolina. Specifically, you will hear from our FDIC partner on why we need Bank On and others on how our North Carolina community banks can get involved.

NCBA DE&I Council:

  • Diversity – A Personal Journey
    Led by Cassi Chandler, CEO and managing partner of Vigeo Alliance, this webinar is focused on understanding why diversity requires more than documented policies and programs, but a personal commitment from each individual. The presentation identifies important keys to becoming a champion of DE&I in the workplace, within the community and at home, and takes a close look at the impact of negative external influences on our core values that impact our personal commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.

ABA Frontline Compliance Training:

  • ADA Accessibility
    Covers Title III of the ADA, which involves accessibility in places of public accommodation. Addresses effective accessibly, auxiliary aids and services, requirements for ATM and website accessibility, and legal expectations.
  • ADA Interacting with People Who Have Disabilities
    Course addresses the appropriate and practical ways to interrelate with individuals that have mobility, hearing, speech or language impairments, intellectual or developmental disabilities, and blindness or low vision.
  • ADA Overview and Employment
    Course explains the fundamental requirements and prohibitions of Title I of the ADA and how it applies to all aspects of the employment relationship.
  • Leveraging the Benefits of a Diverse Workforce
    Participants will work through real-life scenarios to illustrate how to manage diversity issues by explaining the skills needed and apply the five-step process for handling conflict resolutions.
  • Sexual and Workplace Harassment
    Course helps bankers identify conduct that could be considered unwelcome or inappropriate.
  • Sexual and Workplace Harassment for Managers
    Course provides tools for managers to help create a safe environment for employees.
  • Inclusive Leadership
    In this session from the ABA’s Annual Convention, Morgan Stanley’s Carla Harris joins fellow bank leaders Jim Edwards and Nancy Huntington Stager to share how inclusive leadership can positively influence the creation of a diverse team.