2023 Scholarship Winners

Brooks Gray

The HomeTrust Banking Scholar, Class of 2026

Caroline Boger

The Edwin Guy Scholar, Class of 2026

Since 1984, the NCBA Foundation Scholarship Program has supported the pursuit of higher education by awarding annual stipends to children of financial institution employees. This program is only available to those institutions who have bought-in to the Scholarship Program (list of participants). Please note that only North Carolina employees of institutions are eligible to participate in the Scholarship Program.

About the Named Scholarships

The Caviness Scholarship:  This scholarship, dedicated to the memory of Rod Caviness, is presented to the student with the highest GPA. Many people in the industry still recall Rod Caviness, a former vice president of the Savings Guaranty Corporation and a regular with the Savings Institutions Division of the NC Department of Commerce. He died in 1980 at 29, after a nine-month battle with cancer.


The Forlines Scholarship:  The Forlines Scholarship was named in 1999, in honor of John Forlines and his wife, Julia, at the NCBA’s Annual Meeting in San Diego, California. This scholarship serves to honor the Forlines for all they have meant to the banking industry over many years in North Carolina.


HomeTrust Bank Scholarship:  The HomeTrust Bank Scholarship was created by a $50,000 contribution in 2004 in honor of the HomeTrust Banking Partnership banks at that time:  HomeTrust Bank; Cherryville Federal Bank; Home Savings Bank, Eden; Industrial Federal Bank, Lexington; Shelby Savings Bank; and Tryon Federal.  Since then, HomeTrust Bank has expanded across four states and 45 locations.  As a community bank, HomeTrust remains focused on serving the needs of individuals, businesses and the communities in which they operate.


The Edwin C. Guy Scholarship:  The Edwin C. Guy Scholarship was funded and named by his daughter, Martha Guy, a revered name in North Carolina banking in her own right, in 2010. It honors the memory of Mr. Guy, founder of Avery County Bank in Newland in 1913, and continues the Guy family’s tradition of philanthropy and support of education.


The Whiting/Twiford Scholarship:  Gateway Bank’s generous contribution of $50,000 has enabled the Foundation to offer the Whiting/Twiford Scholarship. This contribution to the Foundation was made in honor of two of Gateway’s founding directors, Dick Whiting and Russell Twiford.


William White, Jr./RMIC/ Old Republic Mortgage Insurance Corporation Scholarship: This scholarship is the Foundation’s newest scholarship. It was established by friends of Bill White of Winston-Salem at a level exceeding $80,000.


The Bill and Dottie Burns Scholarship:  The Bill and Dottie Burns Scholarship was established as a lasting expression of their desire to see young people fulfill their dreams of attaining a college education. Mr. & Mrs. Burns have made a tremendous positive impact upon the banking industry of North Carolina which will live on through this scholarship.


The Larry Barbour Scholarship:  In recognition of his continued advocacy for leadership training through the curriculum of the North Carolina School of Banking and his dedicated service over decades to The School at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill.


The Donna Goodrich Scholarship:  A leader of unparalleled comparison, respected by all and admired for her immense capacity as a consensus builder.  An advocate for women in banking and business and their path to productivity, position and the power to persuade.


The John B. Harris, Jr. Scholarship:  Tirelessly in pursuit of the imperative of integrity in banking and the fulfilment of banks’ missions as quasi-public trusts due to federal insurance of accounts. Advocate of meeting the constant need to assure a well-trained and well-informed staff for the benefit of consumers; committed to responsiveness to regulators and a positive working relationship with them to guarantee banking efficiency through correct implementation of all regulatory requirements.


The Harold Keen Scholarship:  With great appreciation for his long and enthusiastic oversight as Chairman of the North Carolina Bankers Association’s Scholarship Committee, the fulfillment of its mission and its guaranteed support of college bound academic achievers who are children of employees of banks in North Carolina.


The Kel Landis Scholarship:  To express gratitude for his pursuit of superlative performance on behalf of North Carolina’s banks and their government relations missions in Washington, DC and Raleigh, NC with a commitment to bi-partisanship, constructive conversations and regulatory reform.


The Kim Price Scholarship:  Appreciatively, on behalf of the North Carolina Bankers Association’s membership, for his pursuit and implementation during his chairmanship of a 100% dues refund for the members in 2008.  Also for his strong and persistent voice calling for a halt to credit union expansion and for an establishment of a route to conversion of credit unions as tax paying savings banks.